Loading Events
This event has passed.
Olivia Williams
Harriet Walter
Rhashan Stone
Gabriel García Marquez

See photos from this inspiring event here, on WordTheatre’s official Facebook page.

WordTheatre presented a special tribute to the late author Gabriel García Márquez at the Small Wonder Festival.


  • Olivia Williams (Anna Karenina, An Education) read “The Woman Who Came at Six O’Clock.”
  • Rhashan Stone  (Twelve Years A Slave BBC 4, The Smoke) read “Nabo: The Black Man who Made the Angels Wait.”
  • Harriet Walter (Women Beware Women – RNT, Atonement) read “The Handsomest Drowned Man in the World.”

There was a special introduction by author Deborah Levy (Swimming Home).

About Gabriel García Marquez:

Considered one of the most significant authors in the 20th century, Gabriel García Marquez was a journalist, screenwriter, short story author, and novelist. Though his nonfiction and short stories are regarded highly, he is most well-known for his novels such as One Hundred Years of Solitude, The Autumn of the Patriarch, and Love in the Time of Cholera. Through his work he attained the Neustadt International Prize for Literature (1972) and the Noble Prize in Literature (1982), as well as popularized the genre of “magic realism”.

Directed by Cedering Fox. Produced by Cedering Fox and Kirsty Peart.

EFG is a keen supporter of the written word. In addition to its close association with The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award, it has supported a number of literary festivals, including Charleston, Althorp and Chipping Norton, and has worked with WordTheatre for several years.