Loading Events
This event has passed.
Sarah Clarke
Emily Bergl
Amy Brenneman
Nicki Micheaux
Nicki Micheaux
Rebecca Mozo
Ming-Na Wen
Nicki Aycox
Mary Otis
Holiday Reinhorn
Ramona Ausubel
Sarah Shun Lien Bynum
Sarah Shun-lien Bynum
Janet Fitch
Michelle Latiolais
Michelle Latiolais
Marisa Matarazzo

Be sure to check out photos from this event on WordTheatre’s official Facebook page.

Thanks to our partners at Microsoft, guests were treated to complimentary valet parking and a catered brunch by Schaffer’s Genuine Foods with a mimosa bar, coffee and tea. The performances were followed by a Q&A with the author and book signings of purchased books courtesy of Small World Books.


  • Nicki Aycox (Cold Case, Perfect Stranger) read “Continuity” by Sarah Shun-lien Bynum.
  • Emily Bergl (Shameless, Blue Jasmine) read “Yes, Yes Cherries” by Mary Otis.
  • Amy Brenneman (The Leftovers, Private Practice, Judging Amy) read by “Kauah’Lea Lani” by Holiday Reinhorn.
  • Sarah Clarke (The Twilight Saga, 24) read “Souvenirs” by Marisa Matarazzo.
  • Nicki Micheaux (Lincoln Heights, Their Eyes Were Watching God) read “The Beginner” by Janet Fitch.
  • Rebecca Mozo (Cock – Rogue Machine Theatre, I Capture the Castle – Ovation Award nomination) read “Dogs” by Michelle Latiolais.
  • Ming-Na Wen (Agents of Shield, ER, Mulan) read “Love Story” by Ramona Ausubel.


About the Authors:

  • Ramona Ausubel – is the author of the novel No One is Here Except All of Us and a collection of short stories A Guide to Being Born (2013).  Winner of the PEN Center USA Literary Award for Fiction and the VCU Cabell First Novelist Award, she has also been a finalist for the New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award, and long-listed for the Frank O’Connor International Story Award, the International Impac Dublin Literary Award and has been a finalist for the Puschart Prize.
  • Sarah Shun-lien Bynum – is the author of two novels, Ms. Hempel Chronicles, a finalist for the 2009 PEN/Faulkner Award, and Madeleine Is Sleeping, a finalist for the 2004 National Book Award and winner of the Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize. Her fiction has appeared in many magazines and anthologies, including The New Yorker, Ploughshares, Tin House, the Georgia Review, and the Best American Short Stories 2004 and 2009. The recipient of a Whiting Writers’ Award and an NEA Fellowship, she was named one of “20 Under 40” fiction writers by The New Yorker.
  • Janet Fitch – is the author of the novels Paint It Black and White Oleander. Her short stories and essays have appeared in anthologies and journals such as Black Clock, Room of One’s Own, and Los Angeles Noir. She is currently finishing an novel set during the Russian Revolution, and regularly blogs at www.janetfitchwrites.wordpress.com
  • Michelle Latiolais – is an English professor and co-director of the Programs in Writing at the University of California at Irvine. She has written A Proper Knowledge and Widow and is the winner of The Gold Medal for Fiction from the Commonwealth Club of California for her novel Even Now.
  • Marisa Matarazzo is the author of Drenched: Stories of Love and Other Deliriums and has appeared in the first annual publication of Unstuck. She earned her BA from Yale, where she received the Wallace Prize for fiction writing, the Jodie Foster Scholarship, the Arthur Willis Colton Scholarship, and was a two-time recipient of the Elmore A. Willets Prize for fiction.
  • Mary Otis – the award-winning author of the short story collection Yes, Yes, Cherries. Her stories and essays have been published in Best New American Voices, Tin House, Los Angeles Times, Electric Literature, and in many other venues. The New York Times has said of her work, “Sadness and humor sidle up to each other, evocative of the delicate balance of melancholy and wit found in Lorrie Moore’s stories.” Her story “Pilgrim Girl” received an honorable mention for a Pushcart Prize, and her story “Unstruck” was a Distinguished Story of the Year in Best American Short Stories. Mary is a fiction professor in the UC Riverside MFA program. She is currently at work on a novel, excerpts of which were recently published in Zyzzyva and The Los Angeles Review of Books Special Fiction Issue.
  • Holiday Reinhorn – is the author of BIG CATS: Stories from Free Press. Her fiction has appeared in Tin House, Zoetrope, Ploughshares and numerous literary magazines. Holiday’s work has been anthologized in This is Not Chick Lit (Random House) The Worst Years of Your Life (Simon & Schuster) and NAMING THE WORLD: And Other Exercises For The Creative Writer (Random House). A graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, she is the recipient of a Carl Djerassi Fiction Fellowship and The Tobias Wolff Award for Fiction. She is based in Los Angeles, where she is currently at work on a new collection of stories.

Directed and Produced by Cedering Fox.